Should I jump in RE renting business?

Hi all,

I’m newbie here :slight_smile: I’m not sure whether I should jump into RE business, especially renting.
Here are a few fact about me

• I’m 28 year-old, single, and not a virgin :slight_smile:
  • Have about $300k in cash, no debt (except for car and school loan)
  • Make $80k / year, and earn extra $120 k from my side business. I dont know how long my side biz will last, and whether I will lose my job tomorrow.
  • I know nothing about RE, housing stuff/fix/maintain and crap like that.
  • I hate travel
  • My english is very bad.
  • I’m very busy with my side biz already, so research/time/commitment to something else may be hard (of course I always want to learn to know everything)

My bro, and what he heard from others are buy property then rent it out, make alot of money.
Basically, something along the line like

• Buy a property in Las Vegas, cost $180k, down $10k, and mortgage the rest.
  • Try to rent it out for like $1000ish a month, and break even
  • After 20, 30 years etc… you own the house. Basically renters are paying for your mortgage.
    So if you repeat the plan, expending the number of houses you have, then probably when you are old, you would have like a bunch of houses, and be super rich.

I know a lot of people got rich thru RE, but what is the percentage of success. You always hear ppl yelling and screaming when they make $$$, but not when they lose $$$. A few ppl mention about get property at $50k / $70k, $10k etc…, and they are super-rich. But for normal/average/newbie like it, it may take 5, 10, 20, 30 years to even reach that stage. So it’s more like time/commitment/luck/intelligent/make the right decision.

Is it really even worth it at all?
Would I be better off just invest in stock market, dollar-average into the index market for the rest of my life, no need to worry about all of this?