Should I do this?

I am a beginner investor. My credit is excellent and I have a full-time job. Some debt, but my husband and I are paying that down. We just paid a big chunk off recently.

My husband lost his job recently and while scouting for a new one he was offered to help bird-dog for a couple of investors. He would get paid for any leads that converted. And in the first meeting, these investors asked my husband if he was interested in investing as well. He said he wanted to wait, but was still interested in the bird-dogging aspect of the business.

I have been to several REI meeting so far and the one of the investors is close with the president of the REI club. I am so new to investing and I just want to take ACTION like yesterday. But I don’t want to buy property on emotion and I think that’s what it would be if I bought something today. I’m miserable in my job and want to quit NOW.
My question is should we pursue this opportunity and learn from fellow investors or do it all on our own?

If you have the opportunity to learn from experienced investors, why would you want to try and “recreate the wheel”? Take some time to ask questions, absorb information and become familiar with your area. Once you are comfortable with the processes, then start out slowly and move your way forward.

The first thing IMHO that you need to do is stop wanting to do it so darn bad… Kinda reminds be of the joke about the old bull and young bull standing on the top of the hill over looking a herd of sexy cows…

After you settle down then start on some realistic goal settling practices. Within them you should write the words “Learn how to buy without my own credit.”

This game is too expensive to rush in and make mistakes. In the beginning it is like trying to hit a fast ball without a bat and blindfolded… You have to be careful cus that fastball may just hit you…