Short Sales

Hello All:

I am a realtor and also an investor. I wanted to know the correct or ethical way to proceed with a possible short sale. I recently made contact with a homeowner who just recently receive a NOD is willing to talk to me. Can I make an offer to her and then turn around and and list the property (even though I have it under contract) for the contract amount plus my assignment fee and stating in the listing that this is a shortsale subject to third party approval.

I know I can wholesale to another investor but seeing that I am a realtor I thought that I could also utilize the MLS to increase possible buyers.

I spoke with my manager about this and her answers were not very clear. I got the impression that it could be done but that I should make sure I have the permission of the homeowner and that I should possible speak to a real estate attorney.

I notice that there are a lot of listings that are short sales and listed already considerably for less than what is owed and stating that it requires approval which tells me that the bank has not approved it yet.

Any insight would be appreciate because I not want to violate any Real Estate licensing laws.

Thanks

This depends on which state you are in. I am in California and the law here is that an agent is responsible to his principal and the welfare of the principal is considered higher than the needs of the agent. If you, as a professional, make an offer to your principal (she becomes your principal when you list the property) and the offer you make is not high enough - you can be accused of taking advantage of your principal - you are the professional and should know the value of a property. Some brokerages will not allow a listing agent to make an offer on his own listing to avoid even the appearance of illegal activity.

You might want to review the ethics courses offered by N.A.R. before going any further.