Short Sale and Closing Date Extension Penalty

I am a Realtor who is representing a buyer of a short sale property. The bank wants the Buyer to incurr a 75.00/ day penalty if we go beyond the closing date. My Buyer is going with a 203k loan, and it looks like we will be going beyond the date. I have heard that FHA prohibits these fees when the buyer is taking out an FHA loan, which the 203k is. An agent told me there is a law against it, but she couldn’t tell me exactly what law. I need to read it for myself so I can send it to all parties involved in this transaction. Does anyone know of this law?

cottagecash, great question…I work in conjunction with the former #1 agent in the state of Texas (he works for Remax). I don’t know the law, but I do know some of the policies…Fannie Mae for example will no longer hold the earnest money. They recently got sued and it’s now their policy to return all earnest money on any deals that fall apart.

Second, banks generally look at it like it’s not their fault. They didn’t choose the lender (for your buyer), and actually say it’s the buyer’s problem and thus the penalty per-diem charge. Actually, over the past 5 years of working with this agent, my clients have only had a per-diem charge involked twice that I can think of. Most of the time, and by negotiating firmly, not angrilly, but firmly, one can get the per-diem dropped. Remember, the bank does want to liquidate the home. A per-diem is just one of the many tactics that banks have to pressure the buyers.