setting up the rent 2 own

Anyone use rent 2 own as a way to quickly fill a property after they rehabbed it?

I’m considering using this option to drive the people to my properties. I’ve heard people will come by the droves for a rent 2 own house. Is that true?

Also, I’m a mortgage broker as well - so it will be easy for me to figure out whether or not they can qualify for a purchase now, and whether they will be able to qualify 12 mos down the road too.

Stevie, Rent To Own will usually perk up interest in a property. Of course, it all depends on how aggressively you market, and how well your terms reflect the local market reality.
But overall you will find a greater response and a better quality of prospects who come calling. Assuming you have good contracts/paperwork to set it up, I see no reason why you shouldn’t go this route as opposed to a straight rental and the associated tenant and toilet issues you’re sure to have.

So this would definitely be a good route to drive up interest in a property…and then my plan would be to prequal them just as I would for a mortgage and if they can qualify…they’re buying. If they can’t, then I determine if they would be able in 12 mos.

Also, would you consider cashing out some of your equity before or shortly after you put a tenant in there?

. . .then my plan would be to prequal them just as I would for a mortgage and if they can qualify...they're buying. If they can't, then I determine if they would be able in 12 mos.
Are you a mortgage broker? If not, I wouldn't go to such extremes regarding prequalifying. I have my t/b's complete my Lease Application and run a credit check. Standard due diligence. Assuming they can afford the rent and, more importantly, have enough option money to put down to make me warm and fuzzy, I'll do the deal.
Also, would you consider cashing out some of your equity before or shortly after you put a tenant in there?