Seller Wants $25,000 & a New Place To Live

Good Morning,

I have a seller that is (2) payments behind and really can’t afford the mortgage. Seller wants $25,000 out and she will allow me to assume the loan, and she will move. I am new to the investment side of real estate, but just keep running into these deals “WHICH IS GREAT” however, it leaves me with thoughts of how to negotiate this deal or which techinque would best suit the seller situation. Please give me your suggestions & thoughts. The homes in the seller area are going for $500-$600,000.00 :bigok

How much does she owe?

You also need to look at the TERMs of her mortgage. Is it adjustable or fixed, what is the interest rate, etc.

Seller owes $335,000.00 and the terms of the loan is a 30 yr fixed. 11/1 seller will be 3 months behind!

It all depends on how you were planning on buying the house.

Tell the seller that you will lease option the house from them with the arrears as an option payment, and the lease payments to cover the monthly payments. When you find a buyer and sell the house to, you will exercise your option and he would get his/her $25k-back payments.

You say that homes in the seller area or going for $500-600K. What EXACTLY will THIS home sell for (what’s it’s ARV)?

Do you have $25K and can you make the current monthly payments?

What do you plan on doing with the prop if you do get it?

What is the current market conditions of your area (and particularly the area that this prop is in)…up, down, flat?

There are a number of ways to pursue this deal depending on what you can, or can’t, do and your intentions with the property after getting it.

Assuming (big assumption, btw) that $500K is a fairly accurate resale value, then at $335K, you’re already below 70%, which is great. Now, as long as the repairs don’t cost $100K, you’re on your way.