Sandwich Lease

Hi there,

I am new at this thing. About 2 months ago I really started to get interested in Investing in Real Estate. Since then I have been reading any Real Estate Investing book I could get my hands on. Lately I have come across Lease with option to purchase books and the sandwhich idea.

My question is: Do these deals actually occur? They seem like a very simple concept, however the books I have read never seem to go into detail about the problems with this type of deal. For example:

1. Due on Clause - the books mention this but kind of briefly and then move on. If this type of deal is possible then there must be information on how to avoid "due on " and also worst case scenerios.

2. How to close. In the books they mention double closing and I think a Performance Morgatge but go into little detail about how it works step by step and what happens at the closing table. it would be nice to have some information that informs you of this process so that you can be prepared.

3. what to do if the seller backs out and you are now obligated to the buyer/tenant to give them an otpion to purchase a house that has already been sold.

I guess I would like to know if this is a good idea and do investers actually use it, as I have read articles that seem to shout the dangers in this type of deal. I would like to start investing and am in no hurry to become a millionare and would like to get started with somethign that is real. I would appreciate any advise and also any books that may help me with the problems listed above. Thanks much…E

Howdy Tyberious :

I started to write a book on the pitfalls and what not to do in real estate investing. I was shot down by fellow members that said only positive stuff sells. I got disenchanted to say the least. Anything can happen and the bad usually shows its ugly head too often at least for me.