Rookie Rehabbing Questions

Hi All

I am going to begin doing rehabbing and I had some questions regarding puchasing/financing:

We most likely will have enough money to pay cash for both the home purchase price and for the rehab work. When paying cash for a property (which I’ve never done before), does the sale need to go through escrow like when there is a loan involved? If not, then is it still possible to have a title company do a title search for you. And what about title insurance (owner insurance)? How do you get title insurace if the sale does not take place through an escrow company? Is owner title insurance even necessary (recommended)?

We plan on flipping the property once rehab is complete.

I realize that these may seem like rookie questions, but that’s what I am when it comes to cash deals.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks a lot

I would close at a title company and have them do a search and issue title insurance. I would not meet at his house and give him the check over the kitchen table. I would still have my lawyer involved. He will probably have me set up an escrow account to make sure the deal is as it is presented. If I had enough cash to do the deal, then I would put 10% down on 10 deals and finance the rest. That is the beauty of leverage. Instead of controlling one $100k house, you now control a cool $1million worth of houses.

I buy my rentals for cash. Yes, absolutely use a title company or a real estate lawyer (I have used both but some states require a lawyer). I always get a title insurance policy – it will only take one claim to pay for all of the title insurance I’ve bought!

After I rehab, I do a cash-out refi based on the new appraisal…at this closing you will not have to repurchase owner’s title insurance becasue it would still be in your name.

For me the beauty of paying cash is that I can negotiate a much better price and can close in a week.

Keith

This is what I always do: