Risks associated with wholesaling?!?

Ok, first things first… Hello to all. This is my very first post as a member here in REI Club and i’m a true beginner in the world of real estate! (So… take it easy on me, eh?)

Now to my question… From all the research i’ve done so far it looks as if wholesaling is the best way for me to get my foot in the door to becoming a RE investor. I’m looking to learn as much as I can, build my team (and confidence) up, and then start actually investing by the end of the year. I must say I’m excited about the opportunies with wholesaling but i’m very curious to hear some of the risks associated with this investing strategy. I hear plenty of inspirational stories, but very few “nightmares” or horror stories…

1. What if i am not able to assign the contract to an investor on my buyers list? I’d imagine I’ll be stuck with property right?
  2. What if my calculations for repair are significantly higher/lower than that a potential buyer?
    Tx in advance…

The beauty of wholesaling is that you can limit risk.

If you really want to keep it to a minimum simply wholesale the contract, rather than the property.

This way, you never actually have to purchase the home, so you are only out you earnest money.

ON your contract, you should have an option period which allows you to iinspect the house and firm up your numbers. This should be your legal “OUT” just in case. Use it to the full and get as much time on this ‘option/inspection’ period as possible.

Wholesaling is awesome if you do it right.

Dennis