Risk Factors for REI

Hello all, I would like to pick some brains here to identify risk factors associated with REI. I did a bit of Google searching for some information, and not surprising Wikipedia provided me with the best quality information. That said, I wanted to know if anyone on this site had any other risk factors that they could share with me and the rest of this forum (from direct experience, word-of-mouth, textbook situations, etc).

When responding, please include your opinion regarding best methods to mitigate the problem and the likelihood of it actually occurring.

For your reference, I have included the information from Wikipedia:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Real_estate_investing

Fraudulent sale
Adverse possession
Environmental contamination
Building component or system failure
Overpayment at purchase
Cash shortfall
Economic downturn
Tenant destruction of property
Underestimation of risk

And some background information about myself: I am a recent college graduate, employed in the financial sector, that is interested in making some income on the side. I am researching the real estate industry and hope to make my first purchase in the next year or two. I am attracted to REI due to the timing (subprime mortgage crisis = overhang = low prices) and the long-term viability of the market (people always need a place to live). This is my first post, hopefully not my last, and I hope to meet some interesting, helpful and experienced folks here.

In my opinion, the biggest risk is DOING NOTHING AT ALL.

You are a college grad and working. Where are you living? Are you living at home and saving money for a real estate purchase? If so, good for you. Read Hoosier’s posts on saving with that plan.

Or are you PAYING RENT AND HELPING A LANDLORD BUY HIS/HER PROPERTY?

If you are, that is nice of you. That is what we landlords like.