revocable living trust

I bought a real estate coarse that talked about revocable living trust, and that you should have two one to buy/sell and one to hold property/$$…until you can form an LLC. The coarse also came with a cookie cutter type trust that is related to real estate. Is this a good alternative till I can set up an LLC. Any information would be great Thanks

i’m not an expert on trusts - but a living revocable trust - what would be the point of owning your investment properties in living revoc trust?

you would use the living trust to protect you assets and use the trust to buy and sell property.

A revocable trust does not provide any asset protection. A revocable trust does not provide any relief from federal estate taxes.

A revocable trust does let your trust assets avoid probate in the event of your death, and, a revocable trust may provide some measure of anonymity provided you are not the trustee.

I think the value of a trust for the purpose you describe is very highly overrated.

I think the idea of the coarse was that if you don’t have a LLC you should not buy real estate in your own name, and should buy the property as a living trust.

Revocable trusts are estate planning tools people use to avoid probate and manage their assets in the event of incapacitation. It has not asset protection benefits because you maintain 100% control of the assets. Irrevocable trusts do provide asset protection and some states even allow you to set them up for yourself. They do provide a bit of privacy from the casual public record search, but that goes away during a lawsuit.

An LLC is a business entity to run a business that provides some separation between the owners and business liability.

One of the big values in titling RE in a trust or LLC that do not bear your own name, is the anonymity it provides.