REO - Can it be wholesaled?

I am looking at several wholesale properties. I have nvere done a wholesale deal, and wondering if my contract is accepted by selling banks, can I assing the contract someone else?

Do banks like this kind of deals/Assignments, if so, what is different in dealing with banks? Any general comments?

Thanks,
Jay

Hi Jay,

I am brand new to REI and wholesaling, so I’m not sure if this is accurate info. or not, but the three properties that I have looked at so far that were REO’s, the contract was NOT assignable. However, this does not mean you cannot wholesale the property. It means that you will have to do a double closing on the property, which in turn leads to double closing costs.

I don’t know if this is true for ALL REO’s, but this is what I have encountered in the three REO’s I have looked at.

Shelley~

REO’s usually specify the contract and paperwork to be used. I’d be quite surprised if they would permit an assignment on one of their contracts. But, if you find a lender who does it, shoot me a message and let me know. I’d love to do business with them!

Jimbo

Put the propety in a LLC, then sell the LLC example 123 main st, just put the LLC in the property address then sell the LLC to another investor. You also can put in a Land Trust

thats the only way i sell my properties is in an LLC.