Renter's application disqualifications

Question? I live in the state of Ohio and was wondering about certain disqualifications for possible tenants. Is it illegal to ask on an application about Felony convictions and drug offenses. I am going to add this question on my rental applaications but want clarification first. Is it against policy to deny someone based on any drug type arrests or even if they’ve been charged, as well as certain Felony charges or convictions they may have on their record. Thanks!

JD
SumnerInvest, LLC

You can ask anything you want on yor application as long as it doesn’t force a person to reveal race, religion, or family situation (i.e. pregnancy).

I’d be much more concerned about how he paid his bills and his character than if he smoked pot.

Da Wiz

Sumner- I’d be very concerned about drug charges. I’m not a lawyer but I believe you can be held liable if there’s any inclination that you knew of drug use or dealings in your property. Do a full blown background investigation on your tenant. The SWAT team kicking down the door and raiding a crack house can’t be good for business. I also can’t imagine a drug addict/ dealer taking good care of your property.

<<I’d be much more concerned about how he paid his bills and his character than if he smoked pot.>>

Duh…Smoking pot IS his character!

Keith

SumnerInvest,