Rental property and taxes

For starters I do not have any rental properties. I am hoping to get some in the near future but I am still learning for now and have some tax questions. I have Read IRS publication 925 and done some searches but am still kinda confused on a few things so here are a few questions.

1. First if you have a gain on rental property is it taxed as ordinary income?
  2. Is there a limit to offsetting passive income with passive losses?
  3. When I do start renting i will manage everything myself so i would be considered an active participant which from my understanding means you get a special allowance of 25000 towards non passive income. However me and my wife do make more than 150000 from our jobs so this loss would be disallowed but if we have losses they can be carried forward.
  4. Long Term capital gains are taxed at 15% and depreciation recapture is taxed at 25% i Believe i read if you have losses that have been carried forward you can apply them at the time you sell the asset so if you aquired a house at a cost basis of 20000 and sold it for 40000 and you never depreciated it you would pay 15% on the 20000 profit. But if you carried a loss forward say 5000 and applied it at the sale you would pay 15% on 20000 profit and 25% on 5000 for recaptured depreciation or would it reduce you profit by 5000 and make you have a profit of 15000 which you would pay 15% on? If the first example is right it seems to me that you wouldnt want to apply your carried forward loss at the time of sale? If the second example is right and you had depreciated before but still had losses to carry forward would it reduce the amount you had previously depreciated or your profit amount?

Any help would be appreciated. I am still learning so if any of the questions sound dumb go easy on me and the answers to these questions will probably cause me to have some more questions. Thanks in advance for any replies