Rental Income & DTI Question

Hi Everyone,

I am a newbie to this site and to real estate investing. Three years ago I purchased my first property - two bedroom/two bathroom condo where my husband and I now reside. In the next 5-8 years, we would like to purchase a single family home in the area and convert the condo to a rental property (selling will most likely not be an option due to the downturn in market values). However, in the interim we are exploring purchasing rental properties as long term investments.

I heard that with the tightening of underwriting guidlines due to the economic downturn that lenders now require you to have sufficient personal income to cover not only the mortgage for the property that you will occupy but also to cover the mortgage(s) of your rental properties when calculating your DTI. I understand that before that they would count rent from the rental properties as income - but that is no longer the case.

Here is my question: 1) Is this true and if so is it true across the board? 2) If that is the case, how would we structure the ownership of our rental properties so that when the time comes we will have sufficient DTI to purchase the SFH that we would like to have for us and our children?

Please advise. Thanks.

I recommend exploring commercial loans and not worrying about the latest Fannie Mae guidelines. Commercial loans will generally require a larger down payment but you won’t have to worry about maxing out your loans at 4, 10, or the current limit at the time. A commercial loan will likely be a fixed interest rate for 3-5 years and amortized over 10-20 yrs depending on the lender. All of our business loans are structured this way. Each time, we sign a paper personally guaranteeing the loan and they show up on our credit report as being a guarantor, but not being solely responsible.

Justin – Do you file your commercial loans on your business taxes and not on your personal taxes? Does that help your dti?

Hi