Rehabbing in a soft market

Hello, I’m a newbie investor, and I recently had a talk with a big time developer, that told me that this is a bad time to be Rehabbing a house to sell because of the way the market is going at this time, ( a buyers market). Can I hear some other opinions on this? From what I have been reading, any time is a good time, if you do your home work, and stick to some important rules.

I think rehabbing to rent is more profitable right now than rehabbing to sell.

I think the best approach now is to buy at a HUGE discount, do not rehab the home, instead sell it at a great price to a buy and hold investor.

I have purchased 4 homes like this in the last 6 months. Here’s what I did.

First one was a dump, all these homes came from leads from my marketing so the houses were never on the market. (that’s big) Owner was an elderly pack rat, house filled with junk. Explained how expensive it is to clean these out and just talked with her. She never called a realtor because she was ashamed of the condition of the home. I bought it for $70K. The cheapest house in that town at the time was $125K and this house was bigger. Now here’s a trick for moving homes in slow markets…I offer the listing agent a 12% commission if the home is sold in 30 days, after 30 we drop down to 6 %. I told her to give me a listing price based on that. What this does is eliminates the typical realtor delema. They usually tell you what you want to hear instead of the reality. She came back with a 30 day price of $110K. SOLD IT IN 8 DAYS for $109K! That agent DOUBLED her commision on that sale, and she listed the incentive on the MLS for other realtors to see!!

The next few were all based on the same premise. BUY LOW. Walk away if you can’t, don’t fix anything, leave money (lot’s) on the table for the next guy and move on.