Rehabber - What do you do once a good one is located?

I am new to rehabbing - and I have located a property & done initial research on the appraised value & market value of the home. Question is,

Can you put a contract down without having a contractor go out & look at the property to assess the cost to rehab it?

Do you pay for an appraisal before you actually buy the property - or do you add a certain clause in the contract?

Does anyone know the steps to initiate a successful rehab acquisition?

It doesn’t sound to me like you’re ready to put an offer in on anything yet. You have a lot more research and education to do if you want to be successful.

If you’re brand new and don’t know the rehab costs, then I would have a contractor go through the property with you and determine the repair value. Based on this repair value, I would make an offer based on the numbers.

I never get an appraisal before I write the offer, but the bank will require one if you’re getting a loan.

The first step in initiating a successful rehab or any other REI program is to understand your business. The vast majority of newbies fail and going into it not knowing what you’re doing is a recipe for disaster.

Good Luck,

Mike

nic,

Im 23and bought my first flip about 10 months ago, im now on my third and its almost complete with 2 potential buyers. It is true that you need to understand the business, but I learn something new every day, and If I waited till I knew everything, id never buy a house. Do your research, if its a home that should be worth 100k, its for sale for 55k, (theres no structural damage,Make sure of that!)just cosmetics, buy it. As long as you have a little money,and a little common sense, youll figure it out.