Rehab or Rental - where to start?

Like many of you I have been sitting on the sidelines, trying to learn as much as I can by reading about others’ experiences in real estate investing. My husband and I plan to jump into the market as soon as we see a deal where we can make money. Given the hot market we are in (Eastern MA), finding properties at a discount is tough. I have seen a few that I feel are good deals, however, we are at a loss as to the type of property to start our portfolio with.

A little about our situation. My husband and I both work full time and have great credit scores. We own our own home, which we bought in Oct 04. I am an attorney (although non practicing) and my husband is an engineer by trade and is incredibily handy.

Given our situation…we are at a loss for what type of property to begin our portfolio with. I am inclined to start with a rental property to generate a positive cash flow. Which is difficult, but not impossible. Given rental rates in the area we are looking, after tax, rent loss, insurance, maintainace etc., we could generate a positive cash flow between $250-$500 a month depending on the house and rent rate. MA has strict tenant laws, but I am familar with all the loopholes and could handle any legal issues myself.