* Reasons to Transfer Homes to LLC? Help please

I currently own a few SFH rentals and 1 personal home. and I helped with a substantial amount down to purchase one as a rental for my S/O who may well end up as my Legal wife soon.

That house is titled in her name, the 2 others in mine. To protect us both for a number of reasons *Should we consider transfer title of the homes to an LLC? What protection would that afford us? What might the cost be $$?

Would that give us protection of liability from the outside… Maybe even from each other in the event of marraige/divorce… I am not clear on the use of an LLC other than to separate the liability holdings from personal assets.

Thanks for clarifying -

I am not a lawyer, but will give you what I know.

The first issue you will have is that your lender will not allow you to transfer the title into an LLC. You could do it beind their back, but that is your call.

Setting up an LLC could run you from $500 to $1500 depending on your state fees and such.

LLCs, depending on how they are formed, and if you keep meeting notes or not, can still be included in a lawsuit. Just having an LLC doesn’t really protect you. You have to run it as a company.

In case of divorce, you both own a company that owns houses. It goes down to an agreement to resolve it, one selling his interest to the other, or judge order.

Thank you for your insight…
IF I understand you correctly, If the lender buys off on it, the protection the LLC
offers may well be a moot point in some cases.

LLC cannot own a personal residence. It will be treated as if you still owned it in your own name. Trusts are a better way to hold and and protect personal assets.

The problem with LLCs for rental property is that managing them and taking an active part in the operation of the business create an easy way around the LLC if you are the one whose actions caused an injury. They can be very handy if you own it with non-spouse members or use a PM firm to manage the rentals.