realtor license

Good morning folks how are you today? Read the posting by bpmiller about MLS list in GA. I am a newbie in CA, you think is a good idea to get the realtor license? I am aware of the benefits: mls list, doing your own offers, exclussive access to some property information. However, will the rules and regulation of that licence be a major obstacle in my investing career in the future? I am talking general all around opinion not about a specific rule or two. Thank you for your input.

Do a search. This topic has been beat to death.

In short, everybody always says that they know the “benefits” of becoming an agent, but I’ve yet to see anyone post that they’ve learned the negatives of having a license.

First, your “benefits” are hardly worth the cost of getting and maintaining a license. MLS access can be obtained without a license and without going through an agent. Nowadays, practically every agent has IDX running on their website which is merely a stripped down version of the MLS anyways. I see no benefit of presenting your own offers, but there are in fact negatives to doing so. I’m not aware of any “exclusive” property info either. If you are referring to hearing about listings before they are listed, then you either a) have to be the listing agent, or b) have to be working in the office where the listing is.

Raj

I became an agent because I wanted to invest in Real Estate. In my case it seemed to make sense. Access to the MLS is a good thing - I believe you could get access some other way. However I don’t think you would have access to expired listings, number of days the house was on the market, etc. (I am talking about authorized access - not fraudulent access, like using a friend’s password to access his account).

The other good thing about becoming an agent is that you can earn a commission for every house you buy or sell. Which is also nice.