Realtor License - Good or Bad???

What benefits or downsides would there be to having your Realtors License as an Investor?
I am a newbie trying to make a decision. I have heard reasons for having and not having a license, and would like some opinons from some other investors.
Thanks for the help

Hmm, I have been debating whether or not to get mine, too. I’ve decided “no - for now” for the following reasons:

-The cost(license, brokerage fees, start-up expenses)
-The time (I have small children and my “day job” is Stay-at-home mom)
-If you run deals as an agent (which I believe you have to when you are an agent) the broker takes a cut

The biggest thing is that I just feel my time can be better spent working on/looking for deals on my own. If you are a beginning agent you have to do phone duty and put in a specified number of hours with any agency I’ve heard of.

Do agents get first crack at some deals? Sure. But I think there’s plenty to be had.

I LOVE my realtor. We do enough business with her that she throws stuff our way before telling others about it and before listing it. She’s a well established, top agent in our city, so at this time I feel she can satisfy any needs that I would be trying to satisfy by becoming an agent myself.

What are your reasons for and against?
Karla in Amarillo

Wendy Patton says its a good idea to get a RE license.

I’m in a good position where my current employer will let me go to RE school due to a upcoming Sale and unemployement for me.

I wanted to learn the business via school and a RE license.

I understand that the Real World and “Creative Real Estate Investing” don’t always go together. But I feel I can seperate the two.

The next question is which Home Study course do I buy for home use?

I listened in on Lou Castillo last night. He hit the nail on the head, “All the courses tell you what you need to do, but don’t tell you “HOW” to do it!”