Real Estate Major

Im doing a accounting major at my university and was thinking about doing a double in real estate as well. Does it make a difference if i learn this at my university that takes me another year or pay another school for a week course and then take the test for my license? I want to specialize in commercial leases, helping owners lease there properties and helping companies find a property to lease.

bump

so your college has a real estate major??..thats cool…but im a senior at university of dayton and im majoring in entrepreneurship which is great…so if your school offers an ENT major then i think you should look into that…that knowledge will help you out with whatever you do

Diversify. Get a major and minor you can use in case Real Estate doesnt work for you. You don’t need a degree for Real Estate, but you could use a degree for something else.

Please read my first post, its clearly says accouting major thinking about doing a double major and including real estate. I want to know if i can just take the week course at a school that i pay and will it be the same information.

The one-week course won’t be nearly enough information, nor would you be able to use it. I would definitely take the double major and really do your book-learning before you graduate and go out to work.

My daughter is taking college-level real estate courses now and I am so jealous. She is learning the financial basics and at a much greater depth than I know. She will have many analytical tools available to her that I don’t. I love looking through her textbooks. Stay in school!

Furnishedowner

Seems that some people say do the double major and some say just take the classes from another school that take a week or 4 weeks. Anymore opinions out there?

Some of the more successful investors I know have a degree in communications or marketing.