Real Estate Broker

Ive read in a book that it is a good idea to just have your license because if you have a deal you cannot do you can always just pass it on to someone else for a commission. Do you feel it is worth the effort of getting my sales license and then waiting and getting my brokers license just for this?

I see you are local to me so I can give you my local input. I wouldnt have it any other way now that I am a licensed agent. Without it is like trying to hug a tree with handcuffs on. You dont need your license however to flip a deal as may know but it just makes life a whole lot easier to prospect for both deals and buyers.

Do i have to get my agent license first and then brokers license or can i just go and get my brokers license?

Throw that book in the garbage,
If you can’t do the deal , you put it under contract and sell the contract to someone who can. Or you double close. or you bird dog it out or you put an option on it for future purchase/sale.
No it is not worth it to get your brokers license to do this . Getting your license could be a double edge sword. As a broker you will be handcuffed to a huge state agency that doesn’t want you to think outside the box. With a good grasp of all processes as many realtors here have it could also be a benefit.
Lack of information on how to double close,wholesale, assign or option properties is the only reason for NOT doing a deal. Lack of money or licenses shouldn’t hold you up.
Have fun, Darin

lol… The book was for commercial real estate and i know how to do all that stuff fine, I was just wondering. Are you saying i should just get my sales license or not even bother?

What disadvantage am i in if im both a investor and a agent?

The only downside is the duty to disclose. I have not found that I have had any problems with disclosure so there may not be any real disadvantages to having a license.