Real Estate agent claims I can't Sublease option...

I am lease optioning a condo from a friend for investment purposes. I’d like to sublease the condo with the option to purchase…sandwich lease option, I think. Since this is my first investment and have a short period of time to find a tenant I am going through a real estate agent to list the condo. However, the agent informed me that I can only sublease the condo and not have an additional lease option contract because my name is not on the deed to the condo.

I have researched several cases where this has been done. As a newbie, I didn’t want to contradict the agent without further looking into it. Is it legal in Michigan to L/O from the seller then sublease with the option to purchase to a tenant?

thanks for your help. ???

As long as your contract states that you can do this, I do not see a problem in doing so.

• DarvinM

thanks for the input. I would like to show the agent a legal documentation, besides my lease option contract stating a sandwich lease is legal. Do you know where I can find this?

Also, if a tenant/buyer decides to exercise the option, do I have to do the same before I can sell the condo to the tenant? Instead, does a Title Co. take care of the details without ever having my name on the deed?

How is cash flow & end profit get taxed if I never owned the condo?

Your contract should have a clause that says you are able to sublet, assign etc. to a third party.

Yes, when they the tenant/buyer decides to excercse their option, the title company should be able to do a double closing. No need for the deed to be transfered to your name. I think you are getting confused with sub2 and L/O.

See your Accountant as far as taxes go. It will depend on your situation LLC, S-corp, C-Corp etc.

• DarvinM

REI_newbie,

Glad to meet you.