Real estate agent as a bird dog ?

I have a friend who is a real estate agent and he said he would help find investments for me

What are your guys thoughts on this

I haven’t been able to find anything on my own yet

Matt

Matt,
Perhaps your friend the Realtor™ will do welll for you.
I’ve had much less luck with agents than I’ve had knocking on doors myself. If your friend understands what you’re after, he should be able to do well for you and himself. Perhaps if you explain fully that you want a house at below-market value and explain what you are willing to do to make it worth market value, he can find you a good deal.
Where are you trying to buy, what are you looking for, and what $$$ do you have to work with ?
Good luck,
Ray

Matt:

I’m a RE/MAX agent and I work with investors doing lead generation. It works quite well for both of us. I know what they’re looking for and I find it and get it out to them quickly. The market here in Maryland is fast right now so time is of the essence so they say. I came from a corporate environment, so I like working with business people. Analyzing cash flow and figuring out if it is a good deal is interesting. Find an agent who likes to do this and who likes to move fast.

Yes, an agent can be a good way to find deals if they network with investors. Not all deal with below market properties, so ask. If they don’t already have investor contacts, move on.