RE Professional Tax Question

Okay, I’m pretty sure I have an understanding of how you qualify as a real estate professional on your taxes; however, I have a question about what this really means. If someone meets the requirements to be considered a real estate professional, would they be able to deduct the actual mortgage payments?

For example, let’s say the 2009 numbers for a building you own broke down like this:

$100,000 (rents)

• $50,000 (expenses, 50%)
  • $30,000 (mortgage payment)
    = $20,000 (net cashflow)

Now, if you file as a professional and make >150k a year, would you be able to deduct the $30,000 mortgage payment and just use the $20,000 net cashflow figure for your income taxes?

I’m a noob when it comes to this so I could definitely be off-base here, and I’d appreciate any help. Thanks!

Mortgage payments are not deductible, only mortgage interest, and you forgot to add the depreciation for the building.

Ah, I see, thanks.

Also, isn’t it true that you cannot depreciate if your income is >150k and you are NOT a RE professional?

You cannot use passive losses to offset earned income if your income is greater than 150K and you are not a RE professional. You can deduct deductible expenses against rental income every year and capture the losses when you sell the property.

In your example, you have a positive cash flow before taxes. If your depreciation expense is less than your cash flow, you will still have taxable income from your rental activity.

Whether or not you are a real estate professional and/or make more than $150K per year has no effect upon the taxability of your rental income.

Er, could you explain the second part a bit further? Like give a quick/simple example?

I appreciate your help :smile

Yeah I know some of the income would be taxable, but I was just curious about the deductions available (specially for RE pros).