RE Investment Strategies

I’m fairly new at REI, been birdogging for awhile, but have been reading the forums and soaking up all the information I can in the meantime.

I recently came across a possible REI scenario that seems like an interesting way to make some deals with little personal risk. I would like some opinions about how good this scheme is and what else it may need to work well.

Basically what this involves is finding (through advertising) people that can’t or don’t want to buy a house with conventional financing. We will finance them at 100% with private money. We will then find homes and negotiate down to 90% or more of the FMV for homes. The 10% or more spread is split between the associates doing the deal and some would go toward advertising, appraisals, inspections and title documents & etc.

Is that an investment scheme that will work and who should I recruit for my team? Will I need a title agent or mortgage broker, a real estate broker, an appraiser, an inspector, CPA, and of course the private money lenders!?!

Thanks in advance!

Howdy Lovnaz:

You have a good idea. You may want to even find better deals with a larger margin. Closing costs and carrying costs can eat you alive. You will need all the team players you mentioned. The more deals you do the easier it will be. I used to be really nervous going to a closing and used to believe that they all closed and on time and under budget. I have learned a lot for sure. Be sure to get enough gown payment so it will be hard for them to walk away. Some like around 10% but do not take less than 5% or you will own it again in a few months in worse shape too. Better to wait another month for a better buyer.

Thank you for your reply. Of course I would want to negotiate for the largest spread possible! ;D