RE Career moves

Background- I own my REI company since May 2007, I have a full time job and invest part time on the side. I currently work full time in manufacturing and business is SLOW, ie some permanent layoffs and temp. layoffs have started so I want to get out while the gettins’ good and get into real estate full time, not necessarily as an investor (maybe licensed assistant or something), until my biz grows large enough to invest full time. How do I write a resume based on the fact that all my experience in RE comes from a company I own? How will prospective employers view that since most decent jobs require # years of business experience? (I do have my RE sales license…) Advice would be great!!

What exactly does your real estate investment company do?

• Rehabbing
  • Wholesaling
  • Renting
  • Buying subject-to
    etc.

What is your long-term goals and what are you looking to accomplish
before going full-time in your real estate investment company?

From what you have said in your post, I would definitely encourage you
to look into doing creative real estate. Learning “get in and get out”
types of deals that require none of your money or credit…

That will allow you to get some cash-flow coming in on a consistent monthly
basis, that way you won’t have to go work for the “man” after quitting your
job… That’s just my opinion only…

If you answer the above questions, maybe we can help you with more
specific answers…

I pretty much rehab houses in my spare time and rent them out. it brings in some money but not enough to live on yet. it would be pretty nice to not have to get another job right now and just wholesale houses or whatever, but my company isn’t well established enough yet to support me. I’d rather get a job in RE and continue to develop my portfolio and build my company’s structure until it is self supporting.

JakeRodgers,