Questions

Ok, I’m a newbie in REI and I have a few questions. Needless to say I’'m interested in bird-dogging and right now it’s really my only concern. However, I’m having the most difficult time getting started.

It’s not the marking issues or even locating properties (yet). I’m having problems putting together my team of title companies and mortgagers. Evey time I call a title company here in Detroit and ask them if they do double escrow or collapsed closings no one ever knows what I’m talking about and when I finally tell them they say no. Finding a mortgage broker shouldn’t be that big of a deal if I can get over this hump. Any suggestings?

If, as you say, you are “interested in bird-dogging and right now it’s really my only concern”, then why do you need a closing company and/or mortagers?

Either I don’t fully understand your post or you don’t fully understand birdogging, or both!

Keith

If you are bird dogging, the investor will take care of that, but it is still good to have connections. I’d keep checking around. It is highly unlikely that there isn’t some good title company out there who is not willing to do a double closing. If there isn’t, Find someone open whom you can train to do it.

Double closings are now essential under many conditions. You don’t want a company that ignorant of this process. Those who know how to do this are creative and progressive. Don’t stop until you find one. It is worth the search.

Carol B.

Well kdhastedt, it is my only concern however from what I’ve read - you want to be in control of the whole situation. Everything from having a title company to ar mortgage company. Why? Well simple:

1. There’s nothing like working with your own people. Who knows what type of profit or better deal can be negotiated.

2. Sometimes people work on deals and end up spending time working on that deal only to find out that the title isn’t clear.