Questions from someone just starting out.

Hello.

Just a quick summary about myself. I am a 28-year-old lawyer, living in Orange County, California, and after reading Rich Dad Poor Dad, realized I would like to start building assets before buying a new TV etc. So far, I have read 8-9 books on real estate investing, listened to the free Rich Dad webinars, and had a blast reading all of the investing articles on this website. So, onto the questions.

1. I attended a Rich Dad free webinar where the host used a formula for making an offer. He calculated his maximum allowable offer by multiplying the yearly gross rents by 7, then adding or subtracting 10% based on the condition of the property to allow for repairs.

(Yearly Gross Rents) *7 +/-10% = Maximum Allowable Offer

This seems like a great formula because you are using the income of the property as the basis for your offer. Unfortunately, when I looked at Loopnet and Realtor this formula has my maximum allowable offer as approximately 1/2 - 2/3 of the list price. Is this normal? Even my own personal real-estate evaluator that I created, which takes into account mortgage payments, taxes, insurance, maintenance, etc. states that the offer should be about $200,000-300,000 lower than what the asking price is (almost everything I have seen has a negative cash flow going for it). So, are prices in Southern California too high right now, and should I stay away? My goal was to own my first properties nearby as I gained experience so I could watch the property and work with a property management company.

1. I read Larry Loftis’ “Investing in Duplexes, Triplexes, and Quads…” and I like the idea of having a triplex or quad versus a single family residence, to cover any vacancy that the property has. Last thing I would like is to be paying for the full mortgage while looking for a tenant. However, it does not seem there are a lot of triplexes or quadraplexes for sale in Orange County.