Questions for the Experts

Hey Everyone,

My name is Jason Stephens, I have been hopping around these forums for god knows how long and have learned tons of valuable information. When I first visited this site I was a young college graduate with tons of ambition but no follow through. Since then I have gotten a really good job as a broker in NY, but the problem is that its commission based. I am looking to Real Estate Investing to supplement this risk with both Assets and Monthly income.

My job has allowed me to get a bunch of money to invest and am trying to get all my things together and invest.

So far I have trimmed my goals to the following. I have an overall goal of accumulating 54 income generating properties each with monthly income of 300 dollars. I figured once I get going and have the investing perfected it works to be 3 a month for 1.5 years. I know I should start with just one, but I need to get an overall image of where I want to be.

My questions for all of you are the following:

1. How much money should I start with in the bank as safety / emergency money? This money will be used for repairs if a roof goes, plumbing breaks, etc.

2. Can I get a complete list of expenses that go with owning a rental property?

With the knowledge you guys provide I think I will be well on my way to achieving my goal.

Thanks again in advance

Welcome back jp…I have often wondered where you had gotten off to!

Please go back and reacquait yourself with the Forum’s rules ('nuff said!)…

Keith

Hi JP,

1. $50,000
  2. Look at the National Apartment Association website. Here’s the short version: throughout the entire United States, operating expenses run 45% to 50% of gross rents. Of course, you still have to subtract the mortgage payment to find cash flow. Forget everything you ever read about expenses from the “gurus”. It is simply fiction.

Good Luck,

Mike

Welcome back JP.

I’m far from an expert…

Just my 2 cents:

Don’t let your ambition cloud the #1 goal: