Question regarding wholesaling?

I’m new to investing so please bear with me as I am still in the investigative stage.

I read an article yesterday talking about wholesaling properties. The author suggested doing dual closings when wholesaling, but one of the things he said really puzzled me. He said that in a dual closing, you would actually sign the paperwork to buy the property and then the paperwork to sell the property…BUT that the deed would transfer directly from the original seller to your buyer.

So, my question is how can I buy the property and then sell the property but never own the property? I would think I would have to sign the deed, even if it is only for a moment before I transfer it to my buyer. The way he describes it is, to me, more like just assigning the deed, which is a little different than wholesaling, correct?

Thanks in advance for any help.

Hi DColey,