question regarding choosing a mortgage broker

Hello all!

I’m new to REI, and am also looking for a house that will be a primary residence. I plan to make that my first purchase (before any ‘investment’ properties), and am about to start marketing to find one.

Also, I wanted to go to a mortgage broker to go over things, and to find what I’m pre-approved at, so that I know what my price range is. I have found an infinite number of mortgage brokers in my area, and had several things I wanted to ask here before contacting them.

First, I want to find one that has a local office, so I wouldn’t entertain any options where I cannot go talk to a real person. I’m going to be calling many to ask them things, and wanted advice on what else to ask them. My questions so far are things like:
how quickly can you close once I find my property?
how many lenders do you have access to?
Any other important ones?

My questions so far are things like: how quickly can you close once I find my property? how many lenders do you have access to? Any other important ones?

What are your fees?

How long have you been in the industry?

Do you have any references that I may speak with?

Without a doubt find out if they are an INVESTOR themselves. You want a lender that understands the financing you are looking for.

Limiting yourself to someone that is local is a questionable policy if you ask me. You want to find the person that is going to be able to get you the best rates, handle closings quickly, and understand what investors are looking for.

I agree with Ryan. If they are a good busy broker you are not going to be able to just “drop in” anyway. So a phone call is a phone call whether they are on the next block or the next state.

So a phone call is a phone call whether they are on the next block or the next state.

Christopher is right.