Question for real estate agents

I’m a newly licensed agent (not a realtor) and I’m curious how other agent/investors utilize their commissions when buying investment property.

Let’s say it’s a 6% listing – 3% for the listing agent, and 3% for the buying side. Do you prefer to simply take the commission after you close just like you would for a client? Or would you negotiate the 3% into your offer, so say, on a $100,000 house, you’d start with $97,000 and work down?

I’m thinking if you took your commission after closing (the way you normally would if you’re working with a client) the extra cash could be used for repairs if it’s a fixer-upper, or whatever.

Your thoughts would be appreciated.

I don’t buy fixers.

I use the commission to lower the price of the home.

I also don’t hire a Home Inspector. I was a H.I., & Commercial Pest Control Consultant early on in my career and choose to inspect the property myself.

I do a fairly thorough check initially & if I feel confident little’s wrong…I waive the Home Inspection (gives me an edge in a hot market).

I watch the MLS daily for deals (MLS is a gold mine if you know what to look for)…in that way I don’t have to do much maintenance.

I’m looking to ride the equity elevator in emerging markets. I leave the rehabbing to my brother.

-Info