Question about Realtors

Several months ago a realtor contacted me from a post and said that if i referred short sale deals to her she would pay me a referral fee when they sold. I referred her a deal that is closing next week, she signed an agreement to pay me $1500 upon closing. Now she is telling me that it is against GA real estate law for a realtor to pay an “non realtor” a referral fee.

Your thoughts would be appreciated. I certainly dont wont to break any laws, but i fell like i have been dupped.

Thanks in advance.

Bob

IT IS AGAINST THE LAW FOR THE REALTOR TO PAY YOU… HOWEVER, THE RELTORS LEARN THIS IN THEIR CERTIFICATION CLASS. THE REALTOR SHOULD HAVE KNOW ABOUT THIS FROM THE BEGINNING. SO YES IT DOES SOUND LIKE YOU’VE BEEN “DUPPED”. IT’S NOT TO SAY THAT JUST BECAUSE IT IS ILLEGAL, IT DOESN’T HAPPEN EVERYDAY.

ATLNEWBIE

Hi Bob,

ATLNEWIE is correct. I’m a broker and this realtor knew well before she offered you the $1,500 that it was illegal. You may want to let her know that you are considering reporting her to the licensing agency or offer her the alternative of making a charitable contribution to your favorite charity in your name with confirmation sent to you directly from the charity. Hopefully, she’ll realize it as the gift that it is and gladly comply.

Good luck.

Cate

BOB,

I urge you to report this Realtor to the Georgia Real Estate Commission and Atlanta Board of Realtors and maybe even National Association of Realtors.

Such greedy scumbags make all of us look bad. They must be sanctioned.

Here in Atlanta, Brokers and Real Estate educators pound this matter into our heads until we have nightmares about illegal referral fees.

Dan

I agree with the others. She has violated the Code of Ethics. You can file a complaint with the local board to which she belongs. There will eventually be a hearing and she will be sactioned. The penanly will depend on whether or not she has prior violations on her record.