Question about bridge loans??? Please help

I have been investing in real estate for 2 years now. In those three years I have purchased 3 properties. Each time I used HML then refinanced for the cash out and held on to the properties putting tenants in them. My plans are to keep a few and sell a few but I want to hold them for at least 2 years to avoid capital gains tax since they are all in my name and not my LLC. ( I find it easier to refinance if they are in my name)

I want to pick up the pace and buy more properties at a time but even with HML I put out money for points and rehab costs if the deal is not low enough to cover 100% total acquisition and costs.

My question to you experienced rehabbers/REI’s is , is there a way I can leverage the equity in my properties to use them to buy other properties instead of having to have to bring cash tot he table each time, or at least not as much cash…especially if I want to buy more than one property at at a time.

Is this a bridge loan? How does this work and will HMLs allow it?

Any advice would be helpful as I am ready to step up business to the next level.

Can someone explain to me how brige loans work? I want to use one to help me buy another property without having to bring a ton of cash the table but rather as a bridge loan. Is this realistic if I am using HML to aquire the property?

Bridge loans are typically for owner-occupied homes and are designed for a homeowner to be able to access their equity on their current home for a down payment on the new home. I have never done one because they never seem to be advantageous to the borrower. The ones I have seen only go to 80% of the value, and you must still qualify on all of the mortgage payments. Current home must be on the market.

Perhaps others know of a bridge loan that an investor can use, but I haven’t heard of one.

There are bridge loans available to investors—double digit rates with a cap of 70-75 LTV…

Regards,

Scott Miller

Hello Scott