Purchase Agreement Addendums

I’m a newbie and I really want to cover my bases on the Purchase Agreement. I am in Texas and I will be using a TREC ONE TO FOUR FAMILY RESIDENTIAL CONTRACT (RESALE). Should I cover the following items in the Addendum:

1. inspections; 2) appraisal; 3) title search results; 4) right to extend closing date; 5) access to property to show it to investors; 5) and the Seller’s acknowledgment that they understanding that this Purchase Agreement will be assigned to an investor, etc. ?

Please give me your thoughts and the verbiage I should use to make this Contract more buyer-friendly!!!

Howdy Trixie:

The inspections are handled in the standard contract. You get an option period to inspect. Make this as long as possible and as cheap as possible to be buyer friendly.

In a standard deal the financing is usually subject to the appraisal coming in at the selling price and if not adjustments can be made to the selling price or the down payment or the deal be cancelled because the agreed upon financing could not be obtained. The same can be true with a buy and rehab deal as long as you make it subject to a certain amount of financing. I include all the financing including the rehab.

The title search portion of the standard contract spells out all anyone will ever need in a contract unless it is a big time commercial deal. You are given a specific time frame to make objections to the title search and if there are non fixable problems you can cancel the agreement and get the earnest money refunded.

You can put a special provision in regarding the extension of the closing if need be or sign a modification of the contract. An extension is not always given by the seller. You may need to put up more non refundable earnest money or pay more for the property as well. It would be smart to add a provision for this in the beginning or get longer up front.