Profiting by keeping her loan current

Good evening all,

I am a newbie foreclosure investor and was hoping to get some input on a potential deal that just came my way. …

This school teacher called me and says the bank is going to start the foreclosure process on this coming Monday if she can not come up with $1300 by this Friday. (I assume this is only a portion of what she owes as she told me her monthly payments are about $900).

She, of course, wants to remain in the house and feels she can make her payments in the future with better budgeting .

Something that came to my mind was refinancing her in somebody elses name with their good credit and taking some cash out to pay myself for professional fees. Later, I would do a quit claim to remove said somebody off of title. Investors do this all of the time, right? Is this the best way to make money on this? I want the deal to be win/win–I dont want to buy the house from her, if she can afford to stay.

Of course if this falls through, this seems like a good candidate for a short sale…

Particulars are:

House is worth: 165 k
owes : 119 k

Is my approach of getting her current then refinancing wrong? Am I missing something? All help and criticism is welcome.

Gregg

I’d find out more info first. Seems strange that the lender is only wanting $1300 to stop the foreclosure. If the monthly is $900, and it’s usually 3 months or so before lenders even begin talking about foreclosure, then the numbers do not add up.

Before you can help, you need to know all the facts. Simply put, you either don’t have them yet, or you didn’t post them here.

This is not a SS candidate either, IMO. If the property is valued at $165K and the note is only $119K, then there is plenty of equity spread to protect the lender, unless there happens to be some major repairs needed.