Prices for unit clean-up

Hi guys,

I’m new to owning rental units and can use some advice.

I have a property manager in place since it’s too far for me to manage myself. One of my tenants skipped on her last payment and disappeared. A week later the unit was broken into. Both the front and back door were hammered in, door knobs completely busted. Window broken out. Trash left through out the unit and graffiti (black marker) on one small area of a bedroom wall. :flush

What would be a safe estimate to repaint a 2bed, aprox. 1000sqft town home style unit? My property manager is quoting $700 for labor and paint. Since I’ve always done my own painting this seems high to me, is it?

2nd question, what’s a safe estimate for re-carpeting the same size unit?

Thank you

Here in SoCal, I would expect that $700 to get you about 3 man-days (probably two guys for 1.5 days)

Reasonable carpeting is going to be run about $18-20/yd fully installed. Be sure to ask for a discount off the quoted price for the place being empty. Usually they will knock a buck or two per yard off as its easier for them (no furniture moving).

If that $700 includes materials, which would be at least $150, that would leave $550 for labor. That’s as cheap as it’s going to get unless somebody just goes in there and sets off a paint bomb. That sounds like Houston prices, but you can buy a house there for $60 a sq. ft., or a wacky condo for 20 grand. Come on California, spread the money around.