Pre Foreclosure but and still has equity

I am new at this as I a have only done 2 deals thus far, and they have been through a sherrif sale and a REO. So they were not too complicated.
Today I recieved a call from one of my lead letters from a man who has hit a rough patch and is trying to work through it. He does not want to do a short sale but the house has been listed to go to auction twice now but he has been able to hold that off due to signing forebearance agreements. The house is currently listed at 349k but the current mortgage is 250k with another 20k in penalities. My partner and I are originally custom home builders but with market softening I have come to look for other avenues to keep my subs working. Therefore I can get the work done cheaply. I believe I can put an addition on the property and redo the interior for around 100k (just to be safe) and it will re-list in the upper 400’s to lower 500’s depending on the market and when the deal gets done. So then my question is what should I do about the extra 20k in penalities. Obviously I want the bank to eat it but what do I need to do to make that happen? Any insight would be greatly appreciated.

The second question is the man has taken a job in Cleveland and eventually will want to move his wife and son there. His son is a senior at a local high school so he asked if I would be willing to lease the home back to him until the end of the school year? I really don’t have a problem with that if there is a way to keep from tying up 250-270k of my money for the next couple of months. Any ideas from the Veterans out there? I should mention that I do have the availability of paying cash for the property. Any help would be greatly appreciated.