Post Cards/ Direct Marketing

Members:

I need some help. I am new to REI and am looking for advice and opinions on marketing. Any help is greatly appreciated.

1. Postcards or letters? Which has worked better? Or should I combo them? Or should I not even waste my time and money? My budget is limited.

2. Should I wait until the house has an auction date set (21 days before the actual auction here in Ohio) to mail something or should I mail something at first notice of default?

I am looking to focus on the pre-foreclosure market to combo it with short-sales and wholesaling the deals out or rehabbing/retailing them myself.

If any of these questions sound silly please forgive me as I am still wet behind the ears when it comes to creative real estate and absorbing any information I can get.

Thanks,
Mark

If I was new with a limited budget there’s no way I’d get involved in the pre-foreclosure market. a) it’s saturated and b) it’s complicated. Not exactly a recipe for quick success.

As far as marketing is concerned. I get 3 - 4 times the response with postcards over letters. But if you don’t have several thousand dollars to spend on marketing before getting your first deal, then I would recommend picking up the phone and calling sellers. It’s free, it’s good practice, and I get a much higher response rate than any other marketing.

i.e. if I send out 1,000 postcards I expect at least 100 calls. But if I call 1,000 sellers I expect to speak to–and thus get my message through the clutter–at least 700 - 800 (the others never answer their phone). Considering my conversion rate is the same whether they call me or I call them, the higher contact of telephone prospecting means more deals. The drawback is that phoning takes more time and guts.