Please help with my first short sale

Hi All,

I am new to this side of REI, but very excited. I have a deal that I think could be really good. First, the house is in foreclosure w/auction 1 month away. The seller wants to wash their hands of it. The property needs some work, paint/carpet/tile. If the rehab is done it will be worth 600K, currently it’s worth 540-550K. It is very dirty inside and does not show well, but is in a great location. The balance on the mortgage is 480K. Is this a good candidate for a SS?
The loan is through Litton I believe. I am confident the seller will work with me, so how do I go about putting together a package to offer the bank. I read on the “Making Offers” thread that banks usually know the condition of the property, so how much should I offer? I was thinking 82% of the current market value, offer 468K and include some pics in case they have not seen the condition. Is this a good strategy? The property is located in Ca, and I would be willing to pay a pro familiar w/Ca to help me put the paperwork and strategy together.

Thanks,
Carl