Please help me evaluate a potential flip

Hello everyone,

I’m a newbie who has a potential flip deal. Here are the particulars.

Condo
1 Bedroom, 1 Bath
550 square feet (small, I know)
ARV $210,000
Reo listed at $129,000
my offer $100,000
Repairs needed =
Install wood flooring
new kitchen (cabinets, flooring, countertops, applicances)
Painting
New windows (maybe)
HOA - $255 a month
taxes $1,140

After repairs, put on the market for $199,000
reno costs $25,000
2 months to repair
2 months on market

There’s a lien on the property of $4,800? Will the bank pay that off when they sell it to me? Does this sound like a viable flip to you experts? Am I missing something? Thanks in advance for your advice.

Lainey

Are you sure of the ARV ? If so then it is a good deal… I personally never buy a 1 bedroom because of the limited market for them. Do you have a buyer in mind? These days I never do a flip without a buyer locked in on the front end. It is too risky to get stuck with it until it sells. Many flippers went out of business for this reason. Get buyer 1st, then double check the ARV, double check the repair cost and timing, then have fun.
redhawk

Thanks for the info. I’ll do as you suggested

Hey, If its a REO then there shouldn’t be any leins on it.???Herbster

Perhaps it is a tax lein - those never go away, even if it’s an REO.

Sounds like a plan - did the ARV come as a result of an appraisal? If so, you’re good. But like redhawk said, your best bet is to have a prospective tenant (or investor looking for cashflow) up front, locked it to the purchase.

As a backup, you might want to run the numbers on how much the property could rent for in your area, in the event that you find it hard to sell, and after a couple months you can decide to rent it out to at least get the renters paying the bills for you. Or your can Lease-Option the property. Either way, you need to be prepared in the event that your investment doesn’t sell quickly.