people keep telling me to wait to buy

“investors” keep telling me to wait to buy because the prices will fall. . Anyway, I know they are wrong but I can’t articulate why. Can someone explain why I should not wait?

I figure that there are always deals and to wait would be missing money.

I agree with your comments about there always being deals. Although I’ve found that they have been hard to locate and take lots looking. I suggest that you keep looking at properties and stay with it. You never know what house could be your next deal and make you a good profit.

I’m new at rei and found it to be very frustrating. Yet I continue to be motivated and continue to look at properties, talk to investors and real estate agents, and most importantly learn my market. I want to get to a point where I can go through a house and be confident about what its after repair value will be.

The short response, keep looking at properties.

Brian

You should probably wait about 80 or 90 years to purchase your first investment property. While it’s plausible the prices will drop in the near future, the investors are telling you this to keep you out of the game.

Value is really only perception. The media says that real estate sucks, therefore buyers aren’t buying. Foreclosures will increase when the horrendous mortgages start catching up with borrowers, further perpetuating the downward spiral. I think I read from previous posts that you want to hang on to some rental properties. If you were to buy 6 a year now, all with positive cash flow, then 6 next year (when the prices sink a little more) you’ll have 12 properties with positive cash flow, vs. only the 6 you gained next year. Don’t only buy properties when the market reaches rock bottom. Mediocre deals are still money in the bank which you wouldn’t have if you sit idle. You might pick up some ‘better’ deals when prices fall but good deals should not be overlooked.

December January February.

We’re going to go insane!