Paperwork

I am extremely new to Real Estate I want to be an investor, I have read Intelibiz’s books, books on Tax Leins, and currently am looking at Peter Conti’s book for ideas.
My biggest drawback is the paperwork afraid I will mess something up. Can anyone tell me what helped them to know they went through all the paperwork they need to?
Do you have to have a licence to be able to use purchase agreements and so on?

Howdy Yoder:

No license needed to use a purchase agreement. No special paperwork needed for the matter. I have seen contracts written on napkins. I personally use the forms available from the local real estate commission only because they are easy to get and are universal with title companies and attorneys etc.

The other paperwork will come from the title company, such as the deed and financing documents. The paperwork is the easiest part of doing a deal. Finding a deal and getting the financing are far more difficult.

It is true that no license is needed to do the paperwork but be sure you cover all of your bases with the critical dates in the contracts and follow through on them. No matter what your agreement governs and can make or break a deal. I am a real estate attorney and an investor myself and have seen many a deal go south or end up in litigation from someone using a form that they did not understand how to complete on their own. Pay careful attention to default provisions and what the consequences are in the event of a problem. It could box you into paying fees and costs or box you into a corner with respect to venue choices.

Good luck to you.

Thank you very much for the replies, but what does the licenses actually do for an individual?

Hey,