Owner Financing

Hi, I am new to rehab investing. I have one property underway which was secured through a bank loan. I am targeting a new property that is offering owner financing. I’m not sure how exactly this works but I understand it could be beneficial to me. Can anyone shed any light on the intricacies and techniques of owner financing? Thanks!

Owner financing is a nice way to buy, sell, or create a nice cash flow for the seller. There are no banks, no origination fees, no junk fees, etc. with this type of deal. Essentially an example is like this.

Sales price-100K
Down Payment-5%
Note balance-95K

You and the seller would agree to terms of the 95K note i.e. interest rate, monthly payments, term of the note, and then you would be responsible to make payments to the seller once a month, just like a mortgage. There are many ways to go about an owner financed deal in regards to the note. The seller can keep the note for the full term, they can sell the note to a private note buyer down the road, or they can even sell the note at the closing table which is called a simultaneous closing.

If your rehabbing or flipping properties and would like the cash NOW then you can owner finance the deal and then sell the note at the closing table for a small discount. You would attract more buyers, sell your home quicker, and get the cash you want for the next deal. Happy investing and take care,

Nate