owner financing offer

Please educate newbie here.
Owner financing is a way to skip getting my own loan from mortgage lender with small down payment, isn’t it?
Am I understanding this right?
If I am right, can I basically offer that to seller/seller’s realdor???
I don’t think a lot of sellers want that kind of deal because most of them want a cash!
so do you guys think that I just keep on making the offer untill some seller take one?

Howdy Rehabbermeg:

You have it correct. Seller finance deals are out there. There is a guy here in Austin that buys property cheap and gets bank financing and then offers it to investors with 10% down and a little higher rate than what he is being charged, It works great for him and the bank and the investor.

You are right in that most sellers want cash especially enough at least to pay the Realtors but some will owner finance at least part of their equity if they are motivated to sell.

another question,
Do I still have to qualify to carry the loan, don’t I?

Howdy Rehabbermeg:

The question needs to be rephrased:
Do I have to qualify for the seller to carry the note?

This depends on the seller. I saw a seller once that is 5 payments behind facing foreclosure. He was advertising everywhere desperate to find a buyer. He had no equity and as a matter of fact he owed more than the house was worth. He was still wanting to pre-qualify a buyer before even telling them the address or anything about the property. He was so tight that he lost the house to foreclosure.

Some sellers will finance without a ss# and credit check but may ask some questions like where you work etc. Some have a friend and will check you out pretty good. There was a lot of fraud in the past and sellers are being more careful that someone does not get the house with the intention of renting it out and never making a payment.

To sum it up you may have to qualify to some extent.

Hey,