Opinions/Advice on partnering

Hi, as will be evidenced by my questions I’m new to this. I’ve read most of what’s on this BB and a couple of books on REI. So here’s my story. My sister and I are both very interested in starting in REI whether it be acquiring rental properties, flipping houses or a combination of both.

My qualifications: 20+ years estimating for a general contractor in the multi-family industry (apartments & condos). Before that, supervising anything from small repairs to full blown rehabs and fire restorations (same industry).

Her qualifications: 20+ years acting as bookkeeper or manager for apartments. Has real estate license she never used, it’s lapsed but can be reinstated.

My thought is that from multi-family to single family there isn’t that much difference, I’ve estimated and been awarded house type work periodically over the years, not from seeking it out but from them calling our company.

I’ve seen some negative advice on partnering but the fact is we trust each other and probably neither of us will venture out there alone. We’ve discussed what we can about doing this, there seems to be more questions than answers the more we learn. With our combined experience it seems to be the makings of a good partnership… and your opinion?

Another question in doing this; Should we do business in another name? Perhaps a land trust or some type of corporation?

Thanks for any input! We’re in Dallas if it makes any difference.

If you are going to be in a partnership with anyone FORMALIZE it! Form an LLC or LP and get it done BEFORE you do a deal Also specifically outline who does what and who makes what. Make those items part of the agreement or minutes.

Good luck!

Rob

Thanks for the input Rob…