opening bid at foreclosure?

I’m just starting out and I recently went to foreclosure sale to watch to see what happens here in my area. I saw a number of seasoned bidders and they somehow seemed to know what the bidding was going to be starting at. I can see the initial loan amount in the notice, but I can’t seem to figure out how they know what the opening bid would be.

Is there some official notification of this or do they somehow contact the trustees to see what it will be?

They do due diligence.

Take the original loan amount, subtract any liens, judgements, outstanding utility bills, costs.

There’s your opening bid.

Thanks for the reply, but really?

after I posted this, I did find a trustees website where they apparently post the opening bids. I suppose this sorta answers my own question, however I’m not sure if its the opening bid or the default amount yet (it does say opening bid though).

Considering what you said though, one property I am looking at seriously on sale next week is strange. He owes 126k (on a 2 year old loan), yet the opening bid is 134k! I figure this is simply loan amount+penalties+lawyers fees. It doesn’t mesh with what you said, which would indicate that they would bid below considering any the liens on the property. It is in a great neighborhood and the house is probably worth 140k.

Aletoledo

In OK we have sheriff sales of foreclosures and most of the counties start the bidding @ 2/3 of apraised value. JDS is correct as well even though a house has a good value make sur to check for liens and other things that would cause you to lower your bid.

JDS,
Maybe you’ll know, when a property goes to a sale whether it be a sheriff sale or any other, do all other liens get wiped away after the deed has been turned over to the county? Anyone?

Phil