Older buildings

Hi All:

I am new to real estate investing and will really appreciate if someone can provide some help on the followong:

What are the implications of age of building/house that you are investing into. In worst case scenario - could someone be stuck with it forever say if it was built in 1967? Also, are there any particular kind of things to avoid (structure wise, plumbing wise, electric …)

Thanks
Alvin

There are a million places this thread can go, let’s start off by why you are buying. Rental? Rehab? Etc…

This would be for rental. I realize it is somewhat of an open ended topic, but I don’t really have any specifics on this. That’s what I want to get information about.

Alvin

Well for starters it wouldn’t hurt to have an inspection done but a licensed inspector to point out any major issues. You’re going to want to be sure the electrical is up to snuff, this is a biggie. Also, you should check into the age of the HVAC systems and roof. As long as everything checks out on the inspection and the majors are in good working order there is no reason why you should skip over the older buildings. And in my area 1967 is newer than a lot of what’s out there. Heck, I’m thinking about one from 1885 that’s been on the market near me for a while.

I personally like older buildings because they often times have a lot of charm and personality that is absent in new construction. In addition, they often sit on bigger parcels of land too. Depending on the area, it may draw in renters and may command a premium. I have a house built in 1919 and got a lot of compliments when I was showing it to prospective renters. If you can buy it at the right price and the inspection clears like Rich said, go for it.

1967 isn’t really that old LOL! The house I am working on is from 1920. Luckily the wiring had already been updated prior to my purchasing it, but you cannot find the craftsmanship and detail in houses now.